current events / helpful sites / neat little extras / travel

Travelzoo? Living Social? Groupon? What’s Your Poison?

Image representing Travelzoo as depicted in Cr...

Image via CrunchBase

Everyone seems to have mixed thoughts about the online coupon world. I recently was at my hair dressers and the owner was approached by a young door to door sales lady. She said her rehearsed, extremely leading pitch to him and instead of agreeing to her offer, he quickly showed her the door. I was shocked! Why would he turn away all the potential customers? The salon isn’t that busy so you’d think he would want to increase the number of clients he has.

Well, lucky for me, the owner likes to talk trash with my stylist! He came in and began to discuss the woes of the first time they had opted to do an online coupon service. His biggest complaint was that the people who purchased this coupon were not the kind of customers their upscale salon is after. The bargain happy online coupon customers were more likely to not tip at all, nor did many of them become normal paying repeat customers.

Now I’m not going to pretend that I don’t love to save money! I subscribe to Travelzoo and Broadway Deals but I’m not a huge groupon and living social fan. Why you ask? Well, I feel like groupon and living social are a lot like the samples at Costco- if  it’s right in front of me, I’m not going to say no.

And who can? Obviously not a lot of people considering the boom these companies have seen in the last few years. I can’t turn down good deals on dinner and massages and a half off mani-pedi? Forget it! I’m done for!

Travelzoo on the other hand is more like getting an invitation to a Coach collection party, enticing, but I know if I go there I will spend too much money. I love to travel (and I still love a bargain) but let’s be honest- going to Hong Kong at half price is still a high involvement purchase. I can look for a long time, check my calendar, and opt out a lot easier than I can with something that’s less of a commitment.

So after a bit of a rant, I wanna know what your poison is, so to speak. Do you love Travelzoo too? Or are you more after those little expenditures like  Living Social offers? Have you ever taken out an ad for a company you were working for? Was it a positive or negative experience?

 

Thanks for reading and I look forward to hearing more from you!

We wanna know what you thought!

