Thoughts

What Would Happiness Do?

Are you in need of an attitude adjustment?

If only it were that simple, right? Unfortunately our happiness cannot always be the first priority in life. (If it were, I would be watching Downtown Abbey and Jane Austen Movies on BBC for a good majority of my existence.) Here are four things that play into my happiness factor.

#1 Work.

I am lucky enough to have worked in the full spectrum of employment from “Get me the hell out of here!” to “I think I’ll go in early!” If you’re working full time, I really hope that you’ve found something closer to the latter. We spend so much of our lives doing our jobs, surrounded by our co-workers, being shaped by our bosses. I cannot stress enough how important it is that your philosophies on work line up with whom you’re surrounded by 40+ hours a week.

#2 Your Friends

Just as much as “friends are the family we get to choose for ourselves,” is also true that, ” family has the option to be some of the best friends you have.” So for me, my ‘friends’ are a combination of pieces of my real family and my chosen family. I call them ‘friends’ so no one gets a big head or a sense of entitlement.

I digress, the people who love you, for you, are key to happiness. If it has been a long time since you and a loved one have spoken, and you really want to pick back up again– Just do it. No matter how much time has passed they will absolutely be happy to hear from you. You know you miss them.

I was recently given the gift of meeting up with some of my childhood friends when I took a trip to Oregon last month. Although I had not seen these people in over five years they were still familiar to me in all the right ways! I will be one of the few who attend my high school reunions, and most certainly if you are reading this, and we haven’t spoken in a while, please shoot me a message. I’d love to hear from you and who you’ve become!

“A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart and can sing it back to you when you’ve forgotten the words.” I believe it; It’s on the back of my personal business card.

#3 Having the resources and time to do ‘you.’

Basically, have time to do what you love, and the means to do it to your satisfaction. Example: If you love to take art classes, you need; one part time, one part facility, one part materials, and one part inspiration. OR if you love shopping you need one part time, one part goods and probably 3 parts money. I think this is why most people argue about money. It doesn’t hold the key to happiness, but you need it to access the things that do make you happy. Same goes for time. We don’t all need the same increment (e.g.: it takes much longer to read a book than watch jeopardy) but we all need enough time to complete the things we love to do. Nobody likes to be rushed.

#4 Forgetting the barriers

a) Excuses. Man, I think if we all had a penny for each time we made an excuse for ourselves we’d most certainly be billionaires by 25. The problem is, instead of pennies, we all grow up earning self doubt. And the more that we experience life, and betrayal, the more walls we put up. Your excuses are holding you back, not your true self.

b) Comparison. Seriously the biggest killjoy out there! I’ve already talked about this in a previous post about Competition, I totally struggle with this all the time, if you can avoid it… do. Find how to enjoy your inspirations and passions; don’t worry about everybody else or how well they can do them too.

Has anyone seen the movie The Joneses? It’s about this manufactured ideal ‘family’ that moves into a neighborhood and basically gets paid to be one big product promotion. They preach consumerism through their lifestyle. (Quite a comical watch for someone in marketing and sales.) Seriously though, stop trying to keep up with the Joneses. You’ll be happier when you’re spending time loving your life and soon enough your grass will be greener than anyone else’s. How ’bout them apples?

All in all, my readers, I am no expert on what your key to happiness is, but I think if you refer to the chart at the top, read through this post, reflect, and still find yourself feeling unhappy; it’s time for a drastic life makeover or to seek professional help.

Love you all and hoping you are having a most excellent almost Friday.

❤ K

2 thoughts on “What Would Happiness Do?

  1. Loving this! Super glad I stumbled across your work. Going to check out the rest of your blog immediately!

    Cynthia 🙂

    • Awesome Cynthia. If you like what you see I’d love for you to like my Facebook fan page. I post links as soon as I publish. I’m going to go read your blog right now! Thanks for the love!!

We wanna know what you thought!

