social media / Thoughts

The Unofficial Rules of Facebook

Here’s a list of rules that aren’t in the terms and conditions, but should be.

Don’t post status updates about nothing-  Omg… finals….”  Although I feel your pain and finals are a burden, you’re not giving me a lot to work with here. In the words of my second grade teacher, “add a little meat on the bones” for example: “Did you know that a dogs’ ears move independently of one another? I wish I could do that with my eyes so I could read these text books faster! Ugh… cramming for finals.”

“Went to the store, bought groceries. Then got gas and picked my nose cause I’m congested.” I’m sorry to tell you this, but NO ONE cares.  If you are interested in being taken seriously then you should post content that is at least remotely beneficial to others. Instead of making a laundry list of mundane tasks, try saying, “I’m looking for a new hobby– anyone have some suggestions?” Then with a few suggestions from your amigos on how to get a life you may have some content that is worth updating us about.

Don’t post sexy pictures of you and your new bf/gf

Yes, you are attractive, thus you probably date other attractive people… this is not an open invitation to post pictures of your last make out sesh. Avoid posting pictures of you dressing up in sexy outfits for him. That’s a behind closed doors activity, so don’t invite the rest of internetlandia in to watch.

Don’t post anything you wouldn’t want someone you respect to read/see

This goes hand in hand with the last rule. If you missed this because you live under a rock (it’s been viewed 32 million times and he’s scolded by Dr. Phil), you’ll know that by posting something on facebook it can be viewed by anyone. It may be very unlikely that someone will shoot your laptop, but you may not get the job you really wanted, or perhaps people will start to think of you differently. There are multiple people that I am friends with on facebook currently that I have started to dislike because of the tasteless, irrelevant content that comes from their feed. Facebook is not a private place. Respect yourself and keep your rants to your blog, or your diary.

Vary in subject matter

I love to stand on my fb soap box as much as the next person (I’m sure you’ve seen my shameless blog promotion) but maybe posting about how evil republicans are, or just talking about what your baby does all day, is dull. If we’re friends on facebook, I know you must have more substance than that, so please get off your soap box for at least 1/2 of your posts.

Don’t friend request people you don’t know.

That’s what twitter is for. If for some reason you REALLLYY need to friend someone and you don’t know them then make sure you send them a message explaining your reasoning.

Internet memes are king!

Have you seen something like this?

How about this?

And this?

I could go on but I think I’ve made my point.

Don’t friend people you met online via a dating site.

Dating sites are great. I am all for dating sites but don’t friend them. Dates from OK Cupid are seriously a dime a dozen and if you add them to your page they could start causing trouble. Wait until they’re the only one you’re seeing and even then, proceed with caution.

Don’t take us along on your emotional roller coaster

And…being “married” to your college roommate/ best friend isn’t cute either 

Basically unless you’re actually married or in a relationship… don’t say you are. It’s just weird. Don’t do this either. No one will like you.

Only about 2/3rd of the people who say they’ll come to your facebook event will. And only 1/3 will come if you invite them and don’t send a reminder.

Send out a reminder, don’t take it personally when people don’t actually come… it’s just one of those realities about the world we live in.

Only tag people that are in the photo or status

If I’m not in the picture, I shouldn’t be tagged. You can always @mention me in the comments if you really think I need to see whatever it is that you’re posting about.

Last time I checked I'm not on South Park... but I do kinda look (and feel) like the sleepy one.

Krisrael’s Personal Suggestions

Here’s my short list of personal suggestions.

-Stop sharing the content that’s already on Facebook and go find something new!

-Instead of unfriending people, just unsubscribe .

-Friend everyone that you know from school — connections and networking are always good (also great to add them on LinkedIn if you want to keep the past and present separate. Add past work connections ONLY  to your LinkedIn)

-If your friends are boring, like some fan pages.

– Stop inviting everyone to play games with you. It’s basically like spamming your friends

Now I have some questions for you about how you use facebook

Do you break any of these rules? Anything you think we should add?

I recognize that rules are made to be broken, just know when it’s appropriate and when it’s not. Now I’m going back to my facebook feed to see who’s gotten married or had a baby since I started writing this post.

❤ ‘tose

12 thoughts on “The Unofficial Rules of Facebook

  1. I think I break all of the rules, often. Sorry, but its true. At least now I have a basis to build a better FB timeline. Call me out, if needed. (why am I encouraging you, of course you’ll call me out!)

  2. a) memes are UH-may-zing!
    b) i hate changing my status because it hurts enough already to have a break up. i dont need everyone asking about it.
    c) people like funny things on facebook. if you need help or support once in a while, okay, an emo post is allowed…

  3. what i meant to say on letter c) emo all the time is annoying. but if you need help once in a while, it is okay to ask for support. we all go through awful things, and that’s what friends are for.

  4. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  5. What drives me crazy on FB is the complainers. “I have a headache,” “Too tired today,” “Sore throat,” “Not feeling well,” “Worked too hard today,” and on and on and on and on and on every single day. Who wants to read that? NO ONE!

    And another: The people who always write political comments/opinions or want to argue if you disagree with their opinion. I go to FB to relax, not argue. Political viewpoints are okay every once in a while, but it shouldn’t be the meat of your FB page.

    JMO 😉

    • Terri, We’re actually making a second post of rules. Should be out in the next couple weeks 🙂 Thanks for reading! Make sure to like our FB page to keep up to date on or posts. We post M-F

  6. Excellent items from you, you’re just extremely wonderful. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is really a terrific site.

  7. Pingback: Love is a Battlefield: Part 1 « Krisrael

  8. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was totally right. This post actually made my day. Thanks!

  9. I abuse the photo tagging. My kids are so wrapped up in their lives, I’ve got to get their attention! 🙂 Good alternative that I’ll now abide by.

  10. Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is great, let alone the content!

  11. Pingback: 6 Ways to Break Up « Krisrael

We wanna know what you thought!

